A birthday filled with cake, cake and more cake!

Hello everyone and happy Tuesday. I hope you all had a great weekend and great start to the week. It was my birthday last Thursday and I had a wonderful few days and weekend away, so let’s begin…

It’s my birthday!!

“Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me…” Yes, another year older but unfortunately not any wiser! Karl got up with me on my birthday morning so I could open my presents and cards before I went to work.

I was extremely spoilt (again!)…

Birthday 1
All my cards and some of my gifts.

I received loads of vouchers for one of my favourite stores, some awesome new headphones which I’d been after for ages and also a heat up huggable unicorn. Although I’m not sure if I want to put her in the microwave, she’s too cute!

I gave my headphones a try and they’re fab! They block all the sound from outside, they fit really well over my ears and the base and sound is incredible. So clear and thumpy! Don’t they look awesome…

Birthday 3

Birthday 4
Oooooh, so sparkly!

Although I spent the day at work, it went pretty quick which was great because I was so looking forward to going out for some birthday food and drink.

I finished at 5pm and walked over to meet Karl then we headed to King Street. This place is full of bars but we went in to one of our favorites, The Royal Navy Volunteer and I had my first drink of the night.

Birthday 5
On it!

We spent a couple of hours there before moving on for food. We headed over to an awesome restaurant on Bristol Harbourside called Spitfire

Birthday 6

Now, I have spoken about this place in my posts before but it’s SO good! All the meat is cooked on a BBQ and tastes delish!

For starters we shared Braai Bread which was freshly prepared dough, hot off the coals, covered in garlic butter and Spitfire Bombs which were Jalapeno peppers filled with cream cheese & cheddar wrapped in smoked back bacon.

Then we moved on to our burgers. Karl had the Pitboss Burger which was a 6oz beef patty topped with slices of Texan rib tips, house smoked pulled pork and slices of premium bockwurst. All finished with a slice of smoked applewood cheese and a drizzle of BBQ sauce and I had Jalapeno Cheese which was a 6oz beef burger topped with pickled jalapenos and mixed with cream cheese.

Birthday 7
This one was Karl’s burger. I forgot to get a picture of mine.

It was so yummy and so filling so you can imagine how surprised I was when the waitress came over with this…

Birthday 8

Yup, as it was my birthday, they gave me an alcoholic milkshake for dessert! I have to say though, as lovely a gesture as it was, I was not liking it at all so I gave it to Karl and ordered my favourite dessert off the menu…

Birthday 9
Chocolate Peanut Butter Stack

This is the best dessert known to man! It consists of sweet and salty peanut butter crunch, light and creamy milk chocolate and buttery caramel layered twice on brownie cake. Finished with peanuts.

It’s so sickly but the taste is unbelievable. You all know how mad I am about peanut butter!

We were so full after all that food (and I was a little bit drunk) so we decided to head home. After all, we had a full weekend of birthday celebrations coming up…!

Off to see family and Afternoon Tea. 

Friday morning was a really, really lazy one! After all, it was my birthday (I’m like the Queen, my birthdays last for days!). After eventually getting dressed, we headed up to the West Midlands to see my Dad and Stepmum for more celebrations.

We went for a few cocktails in the evening, I was given even more presents and then we headed to the local pub for some more drinks and food.

I ordered the most random thing from the menu. They had an ‘American’ section and one of the dishes was chicken and waffles. So, when we go to America, I will often have waffles, maple syrup and bacon for breakfast so I thought having chicken instead wouldn’t be so bad…but it was strange!

The meal was fried chicken with crispy potatoes, waffles and maple syrup and an egg on top.

Birthday 10

It looks a little odd right?! To be honest, it tasted it too! It wasn’t horrible and I did eat it all but I wouldn’t have it again. It certainly was an acquired taste but hey ho, we learn by our mistakes right!

So, Saturday was now upon us and we were off to Bridgnorth for Afternoon Tea. Bridgnorth is a town in Shropshire, situated on the Severn Valley. I remember visiting it as a child but it’s been a long time since I’d been there.

It’s a very pretty place…

Birthday 11

Birthday 12

It’s also home to this beauty…

birthday 13

That, is the Bridgnorth Cliff Railway also know as the Bridgnorth Funicular Railway.

The railway links the top and bottom areas of Bridgnorth together and was opened in 1892. It certainly is a sight.

Birthday 14

You’re taken up the cliff in this little car for a return price of £1.20.

Birthday 15
The track.

The car gets pulled up the track as seen above. It’s certainly a lot steeper than it looks on the picture but the views are fantastic!

Birthday 16

Birthday 17

Birthday 18

Birthday 19
The car at the top of the cliff.

What a view…

Birthday 20

Once at the top we wandered around the little market for a while until it was Afternoon Tea time!

Birthday 21

The Tea Room was right next to the Cliff Railway and part of the station was inside there. It was such a cute little place.

We were seated at the best table in there with the fanciest tea set I’ve ever seen…

Birthday 22

Birthday 23

It was almost too pretty to move! We were given a menu of teas to pick from and told our cakes and sandwiches would be on their way.

My first tea was darjeeling. I’ve never had it before but enjoyed it until I got towards the end of the cup and then it tasted a little herby. I decided that one wasn’t for me. I decided to then get on the Earl Grey. Ahhh, that was better.

Of course, we decided to have a little fun whilst waiting for our food.

Birthday 24
I made sure my little pinky was out!
Birthday 25
So did my Dad and Karl!

Then the food arrived…

*warning, looking at all this food will give you serious food envy*…

Birthday 26
Look at all that food!!!!!

All of that food was for just four people!!! Look at it!! It was a ridiculous amount of food but doesn’t it look amazing!

There were sandwiches of all flavours including ham and pickle, brie and cranberry and ham and cheese to name but a few. Then the cakes…oh boy the cakes! There were scones with jam and clotted cream, fudge cake, carrot cake, lemon drizzle cake and so much more.

I’ve been for quite a few Afternoon Teas but I have to say, this was one of the best I’ve ever had! There was SO much of it and it all tasted wonderful! We didn’t think we would manage to finish it all…

but we did!

Birthday 27

How greedy are we!

We were all so full after eating it all but we had some more amazing food to come later that night. My Dad and Stepmum cooked a Thai meal for us (MUCH later in the evening once the cake had settled!)

Birthday 28

They cooked sticky rice with Panang curry and Pad Thai. It was beautiful but we were all still full from the Afternoon Tea.

Heading home.

So, the next day it was time for us to go home. We were STILL full from the day before but we were heading to my Mum and Stepdad’s for a sunday roast. First, we stopped at my Oma’s house to see her and my Auntie and enjoy a nice catch up (and I got more birthday gifts) and then we headed to see Mum. We had a lovely roast dinner cooked for us (more food!), I received more gifts and then we headed home.

WOW! What a birthday weekend I had. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten that much food in such a small amount of days before. I had such a lovely time though and wouldn’t change it for the world!

Signing off.

You can follow my blog on Instagram too: disneymeblogging

2 thoughts on “A birthday filled with cake, cake and more cake!

Leave a comment